FAQs

Personal Injury FAQ’s

After being involved in an accident, personal injury victims often have questions about what to do or the necessary steps to take to ensure that they are protected from the financial impact incurred because of their injuries. Normally they are not thinking about the importance of how case management works until they find themselves needing to bring a claim. Regretfully, this could lead to errors, or misconceptions that affect their choices and harm financial recovery.

If you have been injured in an accident, you may be dealing with significant pain and suffering, and facing substantial medical bills as well as loss of wages. Here are some brief answers to frequently asked questions surrounding this legal practice area.

What should I do after an accident?
If you have been involved in an accident, one of the most important steps after seeking medical attention is designating someone to take photos or videos of the scene of the accident. It is also important to get the contact information of any eyewitnesses to the accident. Do not admit fault. Anything that you state after an accident could be used against you if you decide to file a claim or bring a lawsuit. Once your circumstances are stable, you should contact a reputable attorney to evaluate your case and advise you on the proper next steps. Most attorney’s offer free initial consultations.
How long will it take to settle my claim?
There is no set amount of time for a personal injury claim to be settled. It could be resolved in a few months, or it may take longer. If you have sustained significant, and/or permanent injuries with large amounts of money at stake, or if your claim is complex, and liability is unclear, a settlement could be delayed, and you may end up going to trial. Hiring an attorney often motivates an insurance company to make a fair offer earlier in the process, because they realize they are less likely to take advantage of you.
How much does it cost to hire an attorney for my personal injury accident?
Most personal injury lawyers take cases at no upfront charge. They collect their fee as a percentage of any settlement or judgment that they obtain on your behalf. If you get nothing from the case, your attorney gets nothing. This is known as a contingency fee arrangement. The percentage that an attorney charges from a settlement varies, but it is often between 30-35 percent. It could be higher if the claim is for medical malpractice, or the case goes to trial.
How do I know if I have a case?
Contact a lawyer and set up a free consultation to review the details of your claim. The attorney will be able to give you information about who is responsible and what you can expect to recover based on the facts of the accident and the laws in your state. Usually, you have a qualifying claim if someone was negligent by their actions and as a result caused your injury.
How long do I have to file a personal injury case?
The statute of limitations in Arizona for a tort action is generally two years from the date of the accident/injury. However, pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes 12-821.01, if your claim involves a governmental entity such as the state of Arizona, a city, town or school district, the statute of limitations is only one year, and you must also properly serve notice of your claim on the governmental entity, within 180 days from the date of the injury. Also, if your claim involves a workers’ compensation claim, or a claim that arises by statute (such as a dog bite claim or dramshop claim against a bar), you may have only one year from the date of injury to take action to preserve your claim. These and other time periods, subject to several exceptions may cut off your right to claim for your injury. Therefore, we recommend that you contact our law firm immediately after your injury to make sure that you preserve your claim.
How much is my personal injury case worth?
This will depend on the type of injuries you sustained and the results of the investigation of your case. You can ask a personal injury attorney for an estimate and based on their experience and knowledge of the law they could give you a rough estimate, However, you should be aware that attorneys are prohibited from guaranteeing the amount of the settlement or the outcome of the case.
Who pays for my medical bills prior to receiving a settlement?
Insurance companies for the defendant will not pay medical bills until liability has been established and a settlement has been reached. The personal injury victim will need to cover these expenses initially or submit a claim through their medical insurance provider. The insurance carrier is entitled to reimbursement from any personal injury settlement. The amount of medical expenses are then subtracted from the settlement check when it is issued to the victim.
How long will it take to get my settlement check?
There usually is not a long delay between the settlement of your case and getting your check. Most insurance companies will send out the settlement check within two weeks of signing the settlement agreement. After the claimant signs off on the check, the attorney will create a settlement statement which will provide a breakdown of the monies collected and subtract the attorney’s fee, expenses, reimbursements to your health insurance or medical providers, and any other necessary deductions. You will review and sign the settlement statement, and then the attorney will give you a check for the remaining amount.

If you have a specific question that is not answered by the prior information above, please submit your question by filling out the attached form and either Kevin or Daniel Garrison will reach out and provide the information you’re searching for.

If you have a specific question that is not answered by the prior information above, please submit your question by filling out the attached form and either Kevin or Daniel Garrison will reach out and provide the information you’re searching for.

Call Today for Your Free Consultation for Injuries in Peoria, AZ

If you have suffered a in Arizona, call the father and son law team at Garrison Law Firm. We will fight for your rights and get you the help when you need it most. Schedule your free consultation by calling us at